Orchid, Orchid so contrary…how does your garden grow?

Orchid 2015

Orchids are quite contradictory. They look exotic, appear fragile, are expensive and are apparently notoriously difficult to grow…especially where I live, an area known for its frequently rainfall, salt laden sea air and crisp mountain breezes. And yet, in a tiny corner in my garden where my roses and blueberries always fail, my very neglected orchid plant has again blossomed for the second time ever. And… not one, not two…. but incredibly four stems dripping full of gorgeous orchid buds. This one I cut and have brought indoors to enjoy.

So they may appear exotic, fragile, hard to grow  and expensive, but in a little corner of Taranaki they are growing, quite literally, like a common weed! Not exotic or expensive, not fragile, not hard to grow….and I am thrilled to bits.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

