All our treasures tell a story…

treaures

I had a huge clear out recently in my studio. There were some things that I wasn’t ready to part with and I tossed them in a wooden box with compartments and left them on the table, not really thinking about them any further. A while later, I looked at the box and noticed that it kind of told a story about me…the items are not treasures of any value to anyone but me, let’s face it, a few rocks, a wood and a few brass buttons, some drawing pins, an old photo, a rusty bell, a torn book,a bit of discarded metal, a stamp- all relatively worthless from a monetary sense…but to me priceless. I look at each item and hold it, a flood of memories comes back, but also, just as importantly, as I hold them,sometimes I get thoughts, creativity builds and new ideas emerge…

Where we come from is important. To reflect on lessons and experiences is important, but to grow and move forward inspired, creative and energised – that is real treasure worth holding on to.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

