Mid winter beach walk….

Oakura Beach July 2014

It was time to get out. A long beach walk in the middle of winter seemed sensible. So that is what we did…we gathered up four kids who had spent all morning staring at various screens, two soccer balls, one camera and headed out into the brisk winter air for an afternoon at a beach not far from our home.

We had a great game of beach football, we walked and walked, had running races, jumped streams, collected shells, wrote our names in the sand, one even played in the water (even in July!). Two of us carried shoes, jackets, shirts and the collected shells. After hours on the beach, we were all a bit cold, a bit tired, but happy, laughing and sandy as we headed home.

I felt recharged and reconnected and really alive.  The fog has started to clear and as it did, I saw the most beautiful view right there in front of me. A sign, I think.

 

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

2 responses to “Mid winter beach walk….

  • stellamcc

    I’m not sure if you’ll receive this Ang, but I just wanted to say that I loved reading this. I feel that some of the unpleasantness you’ve been experiencing may have been washed away by the weekend and I’m happy for you.

    Stella xxx

    >

