Counting the street lamp-posts

hydrangea 2013

“Start something” I say to others…so I have taken my own advice.

I have started a new year with a new goal. Not a creative goal (although I have those as well – another exhibition & more sales just for starters) but this one is more of a physical goal…Running. The actual goal is a half marathon by the end of the year but at present its kind of run/walk/run/walk for about fifteen to twenty minutes…but its a start. I got inspired recently and felt that all my previous excuses (ill health, several surgeries, too busy with work/kids/art.. etc) were no longer valid. I got some proper shoes. And just well, started. Literally one street lamp-post at a time.

I am interested to know if it will enhance my creativity. I am sure it will. I hope it will build strength, stamina and provide me with lots of feel good endorphins. I keep my small camera and a tiny notebook tucked in my jacket as I would never let a “run” get in the way of a good photo or inspiration when it hits.

Despite the slow start – it feels good. This is part of the “Art, Life and the messy bits in between”. The messy part now includes running. I wasn’t sure I should share this, but its a part of my story. And who knows, maybe you might join me in taking on one street lamp-post at a time?

This image is from yet another walk around one of my favourite towns. I have played with it and blurred the edges a little, but I quite like the effect of focusing the attention on the central image.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

