Before the rain came…

trees in feb 2013

It is dry here. Well, it was until the rains came today. The grass has been the driest I have ever seen it, a brownish-yellow hue instead of its usual intense lush green. The temperatures too, the highest I have experienced here. The sky and sea seem pure, clear, a bright blue in contrast with the yellow grass – a very different hue from the usual deep blue, grey blues of the sea and sky and the vivid green of the land. It is a landscape of another place. A drier, hotter place. I am strangely happy.

But the rain came today. All will return to normal. I will miss the landscape that seemed so achingly familiar, yet is not. Maybe I am from another place in my heart?

But the trees, it is always the trees, that remind me I am home.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

