Is it a duck?

I could hear a duck quacking. It sounded like it was coming from the potato patch. Was it injured, hidden under the growth? I looked but could see nothing. A while later, my daughter comes running, begging me to come and see the pine cone she has found. It was not a pine cone at all, and it was not a duck. Rather, a somewhat lost hedgehog! I had no idea they sound like a duck, did you?

Thus my day after boxing day I learned something new. Hedgehogs (they were imported from England to control garden pests back in the colonial era, I also found out rather serendipitously) sound exactly like ducks – they quack! No kidding!

Needless to say, his name now is Pine-cone.

I hope you had a great Christmas, free of ducks, pine cones and hedgehogs in your garden!

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

