Twinkling lights and maybe Tinsel on the Tree?

Tinsel is an interior designers nightmare. I don’t think I have seen a single bit of shiny tinsel in any Christmas editions of any magazines or Christmas articles/images. It is definitely NOT flavour of the month, banished to the “tacky” and “gaudy” trash-can – out of sight and certainly not seen on any well-heeled, colour co-ordinated Christmas trees.

I don’t like tinsel. Too gaudy. Too plastic. I like decorations collected over years, all mismatched and sentimental. And I like twinkly Christmas lights, but only white, not coloured.

Yet, all around my neighbourhood, what do I see? Plastic Santa’s, blow up plastic reindeer, flashy tinsel and multi-coloured lights strung up, sign’s saying “Santa, stop here”…hilarious, riotous celebrations of Christmas from people who don’t care what’s in fashion, only about what is fun…

The Christmas Alphabet – brought to you by the letter T, some unfashionable Tinsel, coloured Twinkling lights, a blow up Santa, and a final Thought…be Thankful.

Christmas alphabet - the letter T

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

Comments are disabled.

