Daily Archives: November 17, 2012

About the bells.

It was supposed to be about the bells. And an old fountain on top of a hill. I heard the bells ringing through town and realised I had never been up to the grassy hill where they are located. I recalled also that a fountain that once graced our city centre (long before I lived here) was also re-located up on this grassy hill when it was no longer considered desirable in town. So, I went to explore an area of the city that I did not know. And it was pretty. The fountain was not neglected but quite lovely (although planted rather than full of water obviously), and in addition to the glorious bells, the lovely old fountain, and the views over the city and sea, there was also an old war memorial on the grassy hill.

Yet despite all this visual inspiration, my photographs seemed decidedly average, failing to capture the essence of the space I was in and the emotion I had experienced, which was a real sense of peacefulness. I need to go back, with more time, more patience and really capture what felt so special. So, rather than share any images that I am not that happy with, I offer instead, the last one I took as I left, of the trees! Some very tightly growing together trees – their silver and white trunks, all vying for space, light and attention it seemed.

