Waste not, want not…

I found these cotton reels recently. They are the old fashioned wooden ones. They came to me along with a very old singer sewing machine, a huge box of buttons and some old, old scissors, pins and measuring tapes. I especially like the colours of the threads and the wooden reels however and enjoyed photographing them.

The most poignant thing to me though, is the cotton reels where remnants of threads have been carefully and thoughtfully wound onto another reel…from an era when nothing went to waste, not even bits of left-over thread.

It is a timely reminder of the days when things were kept “just in case” or for rainy days. The era when nothing got wasted and everything was reused. A lesson just as relevant today as it was way back then.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

One response to “Waste not, want not…

  • gonerustic

    Would you believe I save empty cotton reels to for winding and storing my embroidery threads? I also save my thread snippings for needlefelting, etc. … but will I live long enough to use them all? Who knows … =D

