Acting on the moment

Sometimes over-thinking things can ruin creativity and acting on impulse can be pleasingly surprising. If I had taken time to take this shot “properly”… if I had the camera ready with the correct settings for the available light, if I had spent time to ensure I had the optimal image in my lens, if I had considered shutter speeds and other technical matters, I may have got a technically better photo. Or I may have decided there wasn’t anything special enough, worth photographing and walked away.

It is after all just some farm trees on a fence line.

But in a chance moment as I was a passenger on a drive recently, I snapped this image out of the car while still moving…. The intense sky colour after storms  and now at days end, combined with the tree’s almost in silhouette, caught my eye. The result…a camera set on a random setting and a person who doesn’t think technically but rather just acts creatively, make it appear almost magical.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

4 responses to “Acting on the moment

