Conversations with myself…

Symbols. Text. Texture. Contrast. Colour. And drama. These are the things that I hope will be the common threads in my seemingly very diverse and eclectic range of paintings, mixed media art pieces and my photographs that I am starting to consider for my upcoming exhibition (with no venue or date as yet).

This painting is a good example of this…it has the symbolism, the use of lots of black, the contrasting white for love and hate, light and dark, pure and impure.. It has the text, the symbolism of (things being) black and white and the ongoing circular notion of a conversation that goes no where but carries on endlessly… the said and the unsaid….. conversations we have with others and privately with ourselves.

When I paint, I feel much more exposed than with my photography or mixed media works. I feel more open to criticism, (mis)interpretation and generally I feel more vulnerable. Strangely, it also makes me feel more free and that’s why as frustrating as it can seem to be, I just can’t give it up. Its like a deeply passionate but volatile relationship..but you can’t completely give it up. In contrast, photography is for me a lifetime love, inspiring and deeply satisfying. It is familiar, known and loved like an old friend.

My love/hate affair with painting is a much more complex affair. The fact that I have barely painted in a year is testimony to how exposed I feel when painting, like everyone can see into my mind and my heart and know all my thoughts, passions, furies and frustrations. Painting is for me entering a space where I have to think less and go with my gut-instincts more….

Anyway here is a painting I am considering for my exhibition. It is called Conversations with myself. Painted last year.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

6 responses to “Conversations with myself…

