symbols

 I have several collections of symbols – and several collections of words. Here they converge. Each one drawn above  is a symbol in its own beautiful way – a symbol of a time past when printing was the only efficient way to distribute written information yet the symbol is also, I think, clever and elegant and efficient in its own simple circle based design. The elegant shape of each one (only two are drawn above) are strangely beautiful, like a hidden language, a secret language. They look familiar but are not. Fascinating.

On the note of text as  symbol, there is of course a hells-box..Its basically a random selection of discarded printing letters, all jumbled up in a box of random letters in various fonts. I’d love to find one someday…my collection of random printers block letters thus far is a few antique printers block letters (of various fonts) found at various junk shops.  I know you can buy entire sets of perfect new letters but they just lack the provenance of a hells box.

I did see once some very beautiful romantic poetry written and printed by an artist who used only the letters available in a found hells box…it was fascinating, beautiful to look at as both a collection of words made of odd fonts and letters, and to read as poetry, I think it was just wonderful.  

I keep  collecting symbols that speak to me, both ancient and modern… A symbol can be a powerful connection with our past, but also can be a fragile thread that connects us as families, communities, cities, and as global citizens.

About Angela Sefton

Painting…photography…mixed media…print making….design…journaling…writing…creating in stunning Taranaki by the wild west coast and a stunning mountain backdrop, with my four gorgeous (make that cute, but messy!) kids, my partner GB, and one very large fat cat. View all posts by Angela Sefton

One response to “symbols

  • fairybasslet

    That second (right hand side) one in your pic is very like a Pictish v-rod carving. Just thought I’d say! Like the blog.

